Deep House – something I still love

Posted on Updated on

Soon after I returned to djing, nearly two  decades ago, I latched onto deep house. It became something I loved. Admittedly the producers I loved were not necessarilly the original producers of the genre. My tastes ranged through Ludovic Navarre – St Germain, Kevin Yost, artists using Robert Owens, Mateo and Matos – people such. Gently seductive beats, an occasional hint of jazz, developed instrumentation, subtle vocals well executed – my tastes gripped each of these qualities.

Deep House Page.

via Deep House Page.

geometrically deep futurhood av

What is DEEP House.

via What is DEEP House.

In the whole of the house genre it seemed to be the most thoughtful and developed. Wherever I was – be it bright bar, dimly lit club or somewhere vintage – I could drift into closed eyes picturing a particular beach and friends dancing. Given my love of Ludovic Navarre, it is hardly surprising that I had come from a past littered with Dave Brubeck and other early modern jazz greats courtesy of an uncle with such tastes.

deeply renewed 3 futurhood av

deeply renewed 4 futurhood av

Keep on Deepin’ On: The 40 Best Deep House Tracks of All Time | SPIN | Discover | SPIN Lists.

via Keep on Deepin’ On: The 40 Best Deep House Tracks of All Time | SPIN | Discover | SPIN Lists.

thought deep house

Mixmag | STOP CALLING IT DEEP HOUSE!.

via Mixmag | STOP CALLING IT DEEP HOUSE!.

Leave a Reply

