A trip back home – Coventry

Posted on

car window 1

Coventry is quite a city. It is my home town, I now live in Sheffield and have been based there for many, many years. It was good to see the place again. It is certainly a city of contrasts – contrasts that are still present. In recent history renowned for its engineering, car production and at times really high tech indutrial foundation – it has a very long history indeed. I had travelled down for a family event – the day after we had a chance to have a little look around. The history is there in front of you. There is the modern cathedral, of course, a place most have heard of – the past sits resolutely at its side.

church1

church1a

coventry precinct 1

coventry precinct 1a

coventry precinct 2

coventry precinct 2a

coventry precinct 3

coventry precinct 4

coventry precinct 4a

coventry precinct 4a1

 

DSC02533

DSC02534

DSC02535

DSC02537

DSC02550

DSC02553

 

The Golden Cross was a pub that had real meaning for me. I met so many people there and made friends. It was in this pub I made friends with a certain John Bradbury, ten years or so later to become the drummer of the Specials and also to be there at the beginning of the Selecter. I must admit I failed in my vocal and saxophonic renditions for him and so the friendship was short but still memorable for me. I have retained a huge love of ska and 2 tone.

 

DSC02558

 

 

DSC02560

ecce homo 1

Leave a Reply

